Dangerous Dog in garden

This forum is for serious issues involving animals

Dangerous Dog in garden

Postby Jim1984 » Mon May 18, 2009 11:47 pm

Hi all, i am a newbie. Here is my story.

Next door but one to me have a "pitbull" dog ,on many occasions this dog has been in my back garden, causing problems with my own dog. The dog has no collar and can jump fences like they aren't there.

Last summer the final straw came when i was on my driveway about to walk my dog when the dog attacked without provacation. After taking my dog to the vet and £60 later i confronted my neighbour and said that he needed to do somthing about his dog. At the time he seemed to agree and said he would chain it up. However it turns out he has done nothing, this summer has arrived and the dog is appearing in my garden again, thus meaning i can't let my dog out for fear of her being attacked, and even my girlfriend wont hang the washing out without me being there incase it comes in the garden.

Has anyone else had a sililar problem?
Jim1984

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Postby juliet » Tue May 19, 2009 7:03 pm

My neighbours Rottwielers have attacked me and my dog a couple of times - never bit but just made physical contact with us, knocking me over on the doorstep once so we need to check first before we go out with our dog. I spoke to the council and they visited them but nothing really ever happened. The rottwielers are OK with people but not other animals so they behaved well for the council guy!

Wonder if it is worth you reporting to the council - dog warden? But then it will mean that you fall out with the neighbours I suppose? Also I wonder if it is some illegal breed maybe if you think it is a pitbull?
juliet

Postby despair » Tue May 19, 2009 7:07 pm