Held Needed

Held Needed

Postby dannyc » Tue Mar 24, 2015 4:53 pm

Hi All,

Newbie here.
I drastically need some help regards a parish councils responsibilities on trees planted by them after the construction of my house.

Over the last few years some white poplar trees that were planted by the parish council have been systematically ruining my garden. There are now numerous exposed roots throughout my garden, some actually quite sharp.

We now have 2 children who love using the garden but frequently stub their toes on these roots.

I've been back and forward with the parish council and their last comment is that the tree roots are our responsibility just as overhanging branches would be.

Can anyone help me with this, it doesn't seem right that they don't take responsibility for this as i didn't ask for the trees there, they were planted after my house was built and personally i think they are too close to my property in any event.

Is there a legal requirement to not plant trees within x ft of a property?

Thanks in advance

Dan
dannyc

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Re: Held Needed

Postby MacadamB53 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:44 pm

Hi Dan,

the tree roots are our responsibility just as overhanging branches would be.

correct

it doesn't seem right that they don't take responsibility for this as i didn't ask for the trees there

the law has it that NOBODY asked for those roots to grow there so you can feel as aggrieved as you like but the law won't change.

i think they are too close to my property in any event

you do not own the land with the trees so it's got nothing to do with you (apologies for being so frank but that's the truth)

is there a legal requirement to not plant trees within x ft of a property?

no there is not

Kind regards, Mac
MacadamB53

Postby arborlad » Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:02 pm