Tree was trimmed by landlord in my garden without my consent

Tree was trimmed by landlord in my garden without my consent

Postby tone » Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:46 pm

Hi,

I wonder if anyone with some legal knowledge about landlords and leaseholders can help with my situation.

I have a tree in my garden and part of it was encroaching on to our building of flats on my side of the flats. The building management agency, Hamilton King, decided to trim all the tree without contacting me first and without my consent. They just went ahead and paid a tree surgeon to do it and I got the bill for it, which was quite hefty. I'm no expert in leasehold law, however as far as I know the landlord, Southern Land Securities and Hamilton King illegally trespassed into my own private property, not once but twice or maybe even more. I just want to know if I have a right here. They could have easily contacted me first and I would have been happy to trim the tree myself at my expense on the part that was encroaching on to the building and not the entire tree.

I heard a lot of people complaining about the illegally activities and extortionate costs that Hamilton King management agency and Southern Land Securities landlords are doing. They need to be stopped and struck off. People have had enough of them. All they do is constantly send invoices for highly extortionate insurance costs, and works that do not even need to be carried out. Where's the law here to stop them. Surely there must be something that can be done about them.

Thanks,
tone

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Re: Tree was trimmed by landlord in my garden without my con

Postby MacadamB53 » Tue Mar 15, 2016 1:29 pm

Hi tone,

I have a tree in my garden...

...the landlord, Southern Land Securities