When does the 6 yr rule on claiming debts start.

Landlords and tenants can share their problems and give each other mutual support

When does the 6 yr rule on claiming debts start.

Postby victor508 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:16 pm

Hi All,
If i am claiming unpaid rent from an estate agent, does the 6 yr start from when i noticed the underpayments and put it in writing or
from the date of the under payments.
Victor.
victor508

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Re: When does the 6 yr rule on claiming debts start.

Postby jdfi » Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:31 pm

In general, six years from last contact is your absolute limit.

Is the agent still trading?

I would advise you to take advice before wasting time on an old debt.
jdfi

Postby victor508 » Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:42 pm

Hi jdfi,
i have been fighting this on and off since dec 1st 2008.
Dragging their feet all the time, every time i mention The Small Claim Court they tell me i have to follow procedures before going to court, 3 weeks ago 1 went to their accountants office after a letter to them from the ombudsman, a letter was sent by the accountant saying that they checked their accounts and i was due £600 plus,we declined this offer as we were owed over £3000. We arranged a meeting and at that meeting it was discovered there was £500 from the tenant,s bond. The accountant wrote another letter stating they would pay £the 600 plus sum, the £500 bond, and £200 good will sum.
we wrote back saying we decline your offer, could you please send copies of the cash receipts from tenant, the receipt for the cash they supposedly gave me with
my signature on it and finally paperwork to confirm the moving out date, they say May we say July. My reply from agent was most of your payments are out of time so we advise you to accept our last offer, no further discussions will take place.
The three sticking points are.