Neighbours Conservatory is soon to be new boundary fence

Neighbours Conservatory is soon to be new boundary fence

Postby levtweeney » Sat Oct 04, 2008 6:17 pm

Hi all

Newbie here so be gentle :D

My neighbour wants to build a conservatory right on our boundary. We both live in ex council terraced properties and do get on quite well

My neighbour called me around his house yesterday to show me the plans and they show that the conservatory guttering and some of the facia will be in my air space. I saw the planning report which also stated this. I really do not want to fall out with neighbour but do NOT want to have what seems to be a large conservatory hanging over our property.

The conservatory will be directly next to our living room (Exactly where the fence hits the wall) and will be very noticeable so even a couple of inches would be really a big issue. There is just 2 and a half bricks between the properties. My neighbour told me someone was going to be writing to me soon reference this. I think this may have some relation to Party Wall Planning.

Am I legally entitled to ask him not to have any part of the conservatory hanging over my land?

If he removes the fence does he, by law have to replace the old one?

What is the rules regarding the conservatory due to the fact it will be, to all intense and purposes the new boundary between the two properties. We have young kids and what happens if a ball hits the glass?

Am I allowed to put up a high (6ft) fence to block out his conservatory from view (On my side of the property)?

I tried to put up some images but I could not do it :cry:

Thanks in advance for any advice

Kind Regards

LevTweeney
levtweeney

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Postby HS » Sat Oct 04, 2008 8:48 pm

From what I've read on here, no they can't have anything overhanging your airspace, and yes you can put up a fence.