Saving conifers

Saving conifers

Postby sheilaleat » Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:40 am

We have moved into a new house. The conifers in the back garden along a fence were left to grow to about 20ft. We have cut them down to a manageable size of 8ft and trimmed the width. We have been left with a lot of brown areas where the sun hasn't been able to get to as they were so overgrown. I understand the growing season is coming to an end but what can I do to save my conifers for next year so they can grow to their full glory....... be aware I am a complete novice gardener so please try to explain in idiot proof language :D :D :D

Thanks for any help. Hate killing any kind of plants.
sheilaleat

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Re: Saving conifers

Postby despair » Tue Aug 30, 2011 8:31 am

I think you will find that if they have been cut back to bare stems or indeed light deprivation has caused loss of foliage theres nothing you can do
apart from which reducing conifers by more than a 1/3rd could result in the trees death

You will either need to try and grow something like clematis montana or ivy up them to cover the mess or bite the bullet and remove them altogether and replace with something less prone to such die back especially since drought conditions and harsh winters and conifer aphid have taken their toll on many conifers across the country

Treeman or arborlad may know differently but without photos its hard for anyone to advise
despair

Postby Mojisola » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:30 am