Is a Gravelled parking area classed as PD

This forum is for Garden Law problems that don't fit into the other categories. Please treat it with respect.

Moderator: Angelisle

Is a Gravelled parking area classed as PD

Postby stressederic » Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:37 pm

Hi,
I have some land which sits forward of my principle elevation (not sure if its inside or outside of my curtilage). We use this land as an extended garden eg the kids play on it, there is a trampoline, a veg patch and we also have some chickens within an enclosed area on this land. I guess you could say its use is undefined/unregistered. im not a lawyer so not sure of the technical lingo for it.

If i want to create a parking area next to the access point to this land out of gravel and not concrete and approx 10mx8m in size can I do this without needing planning permission?

Thanks in advance.
stressederic

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Re: Is a Gravelled parking area classed as PD

Postby MacadamB53 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 2:42 pm

stressederic wrote:Hi,
I have some land which sits forward of my principle elevation (not sure if its inside or outside of my curtilage). We use this land as an extended garden eg the kids play on it, there is a trampoline, a veg patch and we also have some chickens within an enclosed area on this land. I guess you could say its use is undefined/unregistered. im not a lawyer so not sure of the technical lingo for it.

If i want to create a parking area next to the access point to this land out of gravel and not concrete and approx 10mx8m in size can I do this without needing planning permission?

Thanks in advance.
10mx8m is a rather large parking space - what on earth are you driving? :)
you don't need planning permission to replace a few inches of earth with gravel.
do you have vehicular access from the highway - a dropped kerb?

Kind regards, Mac