Advice on land

This forum is for Garden Law problems that don't fit into the other categories. Please treat it with respect.

Moderator: Angelisle

Advice on land

Postby robobidwell » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:36 pm

Hi there,

Its my first time on here and would like some advice.

I'm trying to purchase some land that i took over about 14 years ago, when i last tried they said because the land was owned by a company that went into receivership and now it was owned by the crown, i carried on and then problem i came across was that because there was a few scattered bits of land around the area i would have to take control of them all, is the law still the same now ?

Rob
robobidwell

Ads are not endorsed by www.gardenlaw.co.uk or the staff thereof and visitors should perform their own due diligence on the product or service offered.

Re: Advice on land

Postby MacadamB53 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:57 pm

robobidwell wrote:Hi there,

Its my first time on here and would like some advice.

I'm trying to purchase some land that i took over about 14 years ago, when i last tried they said because the land was owned by a company that went into receivership and now it was owned by the crown, i carried on and then problem i came across was that because there was a few scattered bits of land around the area i would have to take control of them all, is the law still the same now ?

Rob
its not the law, it was the crown's preference in this instance - best ask them if that is still their position or whehther anything could be done to change their mind.
MacadamB53

Re: Advice on land

Postby pilman » Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:22 pm

For someone to claim that they are in adverse possession of land they have to show that they are in exclusive possession with the intention to possess by excluding all others from the land including the true legal owner.
The Limitation Act 1980 applies to this situation for unregistered land and the normal period is 12 years.