I cried for half an hour...

heartbroken

I cried for half an hour...

Post by heartbroken » Sat Jul 22, 2006 1:27 pm

Hi there
I found this by following various links from the CAB site and I'm sure all of this has been posted before but I'm still in a state of shock.

Last night I got home to find my neighbour had hired someone to cut the hedge in between our back garden and theirs. He had cut the hedge up to the fence on their side, which is okay I guess, but he had cut along the top on our side, and in doing so, had cut through the main stem of a honeysuckle which I had been nursing back to health for the last three years. It had been beautiful for the first time this year and I was planning to cut it back when it had finished flowering, but now there's just a stalk and a few wilted leaves left.

Our neighbour hadn't told us he'd hired someone - my partner only knew about it as he was leaving for work yesterday morning and he got the impression that he was going to trim the hedge. He said something along the lines of "I'm just trimming the hedge but I won't cut it too short so you keep some privacy". I hope he didn't asume from that we'd given permission! He said nothing about cutting it so thin that we can see right through into our neighbour's garden.

Anyway, while I was taking photos of the damage I burst into tears and couldn't stop. I'd devoted so much time and effort to saving the plant and it had all been taken away like that.

My neighbour's wife heard me crying and is really guilty about what she'd done, but her english isn't too good and she kept on saying "it's only a plant, it'll grow back." It was hard enough for me to get it going in the first place and with the weather being so dry, my gut feeling is that it won't. It was sickly to start with but too big to dig up and replace, which is why I'd worked so hard to save it. I've got a good 20+ years of gardening experience behind me and I'm pretty good at gauging when something is beyond recovery.