Neighbours access to their back garden through mine

GimmeSomeTruth

Neighbours access to their back garden through mine

Post by GimmeSomeTruth » Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:58 am

Hi there,

Although I've used gardenlaw as a source of information in the past, I've never posted before so this is my first time. Apologies if this type of issue has already been covered previously but from looking through the site I couldn't find a specific example to which I could compare.

So, just last week we moved into a lovely semi-detached house which is on a large corner plot complete with driveway and garage. Just before completion, we went back to the property to measure up and met one of the neighbours. We were chatting about our plans for the property and I happened to mention my plans for fencing off the side of the property with a six foot fence complete with gates across the drive and then continuing the fence across the boundary of my drive and her drive. She said she was fine with this as long as she still had access to her back garden.

Straight away this set off alarm bells as the vendor had confirmed on the documents we'd been forwarded from our solicitor that there were no informal rights of way. She explained that the current picket fence separating the two driveways had a small gate at the top of the drive which allowed her to gain access to our driveway, walk down the narrow side alley between our garage and her kitchen extension and then access a gate at the back to get into her back garden. Now I have to point out, we had never before noticed this gate in the picket fence along the driveway or the gate at the back which actually just looks like part of the fence as there is no handle on our side.