deed of variation

barbara h
Number of Posts per Page: 5
Number of topics per page: 20

deed of variation

Post by barbara h »

Hi

I'm new to this so hopefully I'm posting in the right place! And I do hope someone can help - I've googled it to death!!

On behalf of my daughter - their neighbours have a right of way to cross their garden on foot, and do use this to take the bins out - no problems.

My daughter and hubby have applied for planning permission to extend. The extension would cross the ROW. They want to change the route but not the original entrance and exit to the ROW - itjust means instead of a straight path in front of their kitchen window the neighbours will have a 7 metre diversion a round the extended kitchen. Their gate will remain in the same place and not be touched and it wont interfere with their garden.

Does this need a deed of variation?

I'm sure they wont agree as they have been objecting all the way for the planning application. I think they will use this as their ace card, so to speak.
Conveyancer

Re: deed of variation

Post by Conveyancer »

Yes a deed of variation is required. You cannot alter the route of a right of way without the consent of the persons entitled to use the route.
If you have benefited from advice on this site please consider contributing to a cancer charity.
span

Post by span »

As ace cards go, it's a top trump!
barbara h

Post by barbara h »

Thank you. I guessed it would be but just wanted to check if the neighbours approval was needed if nothing was being changed on their side, including the access gate.