Access rights with complications...

StaffordshireBlue

Access rights with complications...

Post by StaffordshireBlue » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:40 am

Hello all

This is my first time posting here, and it concerns two separate, but linked issues which I hope won't come across as confusing.

I'm also going to separate this into the (lengthy) background, details of the dispute and then then post my specific questions at the bottom.

Background

There is an access path (shaded blue) running at the end of the garden for houses A1 (mine), A2 and A3. Houses A1 and A2 own this (boundaries marked with blue dotted line) and it provides formally - through the title deeds - access to the road from the gardens of all three A-houses.

Over the years, some owners of the B-houses have installed gates in their boundary fence in order to also use the path that leads to the road in the belief that the path was common land. The B-houses also clubbed together to install the gate at the road (previously it was an open path) around 20 years ago. The key to this gate was provided to the former owner of our house (A1).

In terms of the specifics:

1. B1 does not have a gate from their property to the path as there is a garage at the end of their garden blocking the way.
2. B2 installed the gate a few years ago, we were aware of this and gave them permission to use our land as a path to the road
3. B3 (we believe) had their gate installed around 2007
4. B4 is divided into two flats. The ground floor flat, B4A, has access to the path via a gate in the fence, installed (we believe) no earlier than 1998. Flat B4B is a top floor flat with no independent direct access to the path.
5. B5 installed the gate around a decade ago.