Info sought for national plant name research programme

This forum is for Garden Law problems that don't fit into the other categories. Please treat it with respect.

Moderator: Angelisle

Ladygardener
Number of Posts per Page: 15
Number of topics per page: 50

Info sought for national plant name research programme

Post by Ladygardener » Sun Apr 01, 2018 10:26 am

Hello Gardenlaw members, my name is Jo. I'm a Post-doctoral Research Fellow in Ethno-botany, currently engaged in a three year research programme entitled "British Flowering Plants: Late Medieval Conventions and Sexual Expression in the Inception and Evolution of Vernacular and Dialectal Nomenclature".

As part of this project, I am studying the origins of several archaic plant names that have been discovered in historical documentary sources dating from the 12th to the 16th centuries. These include a royal charter, Chaucerian manuscripts, medical treatises and even a traditional folk song. Whilst my colleagues and I have successfully attributed particular species to many of these old plant references, a number of them remain elusive.

Although the names of interest are no longer in widespread use, it is not uncommon for ancient names to persist for many centuries as regionalised colloquial terms - sometimes even into the modern era. For that reason we would like to ask whether any of the forum members here happen to recall hearing variations of these old plant names as youngsters.

However, before you read our list, I must issue a warning: we believe that some of the names have sexual connotations. This is probably one of the reasons they have fallen out of common use. I apologise if you might find these names embarrassing or offensive; and if you feel that this is likely, I would respectfully request that you do not read the remainder of this posting.