URGENT! Which way must fence panelling face?

idotry

URGENT! Which way must fence panelling face?

Post by idotry » Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:00 pm

Today, my neighbour started having a new garden fence erected using concrete posts with arris rails between, so I guess it will be close boarded.

I have noticed that the pointed ridge of the arris rail is facing us, and whilst I am not a fence expert, I believe this means the board will be fixed to the flat side of the arris rail, thereby facing our neighbour.

I had close boarded fencing erected some years ago, and was told the arris rail must be facing inwards to our garden, which is what we did, even though we would have preferred to see the more attractive close boarding facing us.

Am I right in thinking the 'fair' side of a fence must face away from whoever owns the fence. If that is so, in this case, our neighbour should see the arris rail on the back of her fence, whilst we see the fence boarding and not the arris rail.

I must stress we get on well with that neighbour, but I really don't want to see ugly arris rails facing us as we have just re-designed our garden.

If she needs to advise her fencers, it must happen tomorrow.

HELP!!!

Conveyancer

Post by Conveyancer » Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:08 pm

Despite popular belief to the contrary, there is no rule of law that covers this.
If you have benefited from advice on this site please consider contributing to a cancer charity.

kipper

Post by kipper » Thu Oct 01, 2009 7:16 pm

Firstly, are you certain that it is their fence and they have responsibility for that boundary?

If it is theirs, there is no law to say they must construct the fence with the nice side facing you I'm afraid - only courtesy dictates this. However, they must ensure that no part of the fence encroaches onto/over your land.